Friday, January 4, 2013

Will Morris and Trammell Get "The Call"?

Pop quiz hotshot!  You have a Major League Baseball Hall of Fame vote and have to decide whether former Tigers Jack Morris and Alan Trammell are Hall of Fame worthy.  If you don't vote for them this year, then they  may not ever have another chance to obtain the necessary votes.  If you do vote for them, they could become immortalized in Cooperstown...WHAT DO YOU DO! "and scene"

To clarify, that was my horrible interpretation of Dennis Hopper talking to Keanu Reeves in the move "Speed" if Keanu held a Hall of Fame vote.  All joking aside though, I wish that the voters would think of how they are voting in a similar fashion.  To give players 15 chances to be elected is ridiculous.  I feel that either you are a Hall of Fame player or you are not.  How does a player not achieve the required amount of votes one year, but gains them another and is only then considered a Hall of Famer?  Goose Gossage had to wait 9 years before he was considered a Hall of Famer.  Bert Blyleven had to wait 14 years.  The entire process needs to be reworked.

On Tuesday, January 8th, the Baseball Hall of Fame will announce their 2013 inductees.  This year we will see some big names from the "steroid era" on the ballot for the first time.  Players like Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, and Sammy Sosa are all first time eligible.  Mark McGwire (7th year eligible) and Rafael Palmeiro (3rd year eligible) are carryovers from  previous years.

To gain entrance into the Hall of Fame, a player has to be on at least 75% of the ballots cast.  Each voter is able to vote for a maximum of 10 people (although they don't have to vote for 10, it can be less).  This year will be the 14th year on the ballot for Morris and the 11th year for Trammell. 

Growing up here in Michigan, I was a big Tigers fan.  Morris and Trammell were both in the prime of their careers, so I guess that you could say that I am a bit biased.  A lot of people don't believe that Morris or Trammell deserve to be in the Hall of Fame.  However, if you look at the numbers that these players put up compared to other current Hall of Famers, I think that they will see things a little differently. 

Jack Morris
  • Morris was the winningest pitcher in the '80's (162 wins).  This was more than current Hall of Famers Bert Blyleven (123 wins) and Nolan Ryan (122 wins).
  • He finished with an astounding 175 complete games (133 of those in the 1980's alone).
  • One of the best "big game" pitchers there ever was (Named World Series MVP in 1991 with Twins with a 2-0 record, 1.17 ERA, and a 10-inning, 1-0 victory in Game Seven)
Last year, Morris was named on 66.7% of the ballots, falling 48 votes short of election.  No player has ever received more than 65% of the vote and not been elected, however Morris is running out of time.

Alan Trammell
  • Trammell played 20 years (all with the Tigers) and had a career batting average of .285.  Current Hall of Famer Cal Ripken Jr had a career batting average of only .276.
  • Trammell's on base percentage was .352, compared to .340 for Ripken.
  • Trammell earned 4 Gold Gloves over the course of his career compared to 2 Gold Gloves for Ripken. 
Trammell was named on 36.8% of the votes this past year and will need a lot of help if he's going to make it to the elusive 75% level. 

Are they Hall of Fame worthy?  To be honest, it's a very simple question that I think many "experts" make difficult for the purpose of creating controversy.  If it were up to me, I'd vote for both Morris and Trammell.  They've proven to be Hall of Fame worthy and should already be in Cooperstown, not waiting for 15 years before it's official.

No comments: